PSE Stinger: Maybe the Best Deal Going

I used to shake my head when I heard of folks paying 1100 or 1200 dollars for a bow.  I guess I still sort of do, but I understand it and heck if I had the money I’d probably do the same.  In fact, if I could afford it I’d probably buy the top of the line bows from all the current bow manufacturers.  I could totally see myself collecting traditional bows and compound bows the way Jay Leno collects cars.

But you know what, I don’t have that kind of money and never will and chances are you won’t either.  Most of us are looking for a bow that shoots extremely well, doesn’t have to be tuned every month, and one that will hold up under normal use and abuse.  Oh and we also want this in a bow we can afford and be proud to carry into the woods or into camp.

Well, as some of you may know, the PSE Stinger is, in my view “that” bow:  http://www.huntersfriend.com/2011_PSE_Stinger_Best_Bow_for_the_Money/discount_bowhunting_compound_bow_package.htm

Of course, there are other great shooting and affordable bows out there (Diamond Outlaw comes to mind:  http://www.huntersfriend.com/2011_Diamond_Outlaw_Bow/best_bow_for_the_money_outlaw.htm), but most PSE Stinger owners will tell you there isn’t  a better bow out there…even if  you’re willing to pay 200 or 300 dollars more.

But don’t just listen to the biased owners, listen to the guys and gals that work in the Archery Pro Shops.  I’ve never heard a single one say a bad word about the PSE Stinger.

Now there is always the possibility that a certain bow will be great for one person and not for another, so I would highly recommend that you go and shoot the Stinger and see what you think.  I will say that I shot it and the Diamond Outlaw quite a bit, and while I love the Outlaw, I loved the Stinger more.

The PSE Stinger is about 14 FPS slower than the Diamond Outlaw, but for the vast majority of bowhunters this won’t make a difference in your ability to harvest game.

While the Outlaw is faster due to it’s aggressive cam (it’s also 100 dollars more), the draw cycle on the Stinger is smoother due to it’s less aggressive cam.

I have a bad shoulder so the smoother draw cycle was more important to me than the additional 14 FPS.

The PSE Stinger is by all accounts bulletproof.  Hunter’s Friend (hands down the best online retailer of Archery equipmenthttp://www.huntersfriend.com/) posted on their website that of the hundreds and hundreds of PSE Stinger’s they’ve sold, they’ve never had one returned for warranty service.

There’s a lot more I could say about this fabulous bow, but instead of reading about it, you should go out and shoot one.  Now, there is the possibility you may have a hard time finding one.  If they don’t have one at your nearest Archery Pro-Shop, Cabela’s, or Bass Pro, then you should look into getting one at Hunter’s Friend.  They are amazing; amazing customer service, free-shipping on all orders over 200 bucks.  Hunter’s Friend also has a “Ready to Hunt” package that will set you up with a fully tuned and outfitted bow, custom built and fitted arrows, mechanical release, bow case, broadheads, field points and more for a hundred dollars above and beyond what you would pay for just the bow package.

I have the 2011 Stinger, and while I still love my old PSE Custom Built Bow (Custom built for some guy that pawned it), the Stinger is becoming my favorite bow.

But look out, the 2012 Stinger is out and word is it’s even better:  http://www.huntersfriend.com/2012_PSE_Stinger_3G/best_compound_bow_for_the_money.htm

4 Responses to “PSE Stinger: Maybe the Best Deal Going”

  1. You need to post more.

  2. bowtech3…

    […]PSE Stinger: Maybe the Best Deal Going « All Things Shooting and Hunting[…]…

  3. This design is incredible! You definitely know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.
    ..HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really loved what you had
    to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  4. Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice
    while you amend your website, how could i subscribe for a blog website?
    The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been
    a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear concept

Leave a Reply

