Ruger 10/22 Carbine: The #1 Semi-Automatic .22 Rifle For All Occasions (Part One)

First of all, it’s pretty affordable:  $197 dollars at Wal-Mart or Academy.

The Marlin 795 ($129) and the Marlin 60 ($139) are less expensive and many will tell you that the Marlin, with it’s micro-groove barrel, is more accurate.  However, I will tell you the accuracy differences, in my experience, are negligible especially if you are using your rifle for plinking (recreational shooting of cans, bottles, and other targets), varmint control, or small game hunting.  Now if you are doing some bench rest shooting with your stock Marlin you might see some more marked differences, but the last time I checked there aren’t too many competitive .22 Caliber bench rest shooters using stock  Marlin 60’s or 795’s or stock Ruger 10/22’s (and of course the Ruger 10/22 is incredibly modifiable: aftermarket stocks, triggers, barrels if you want to make it into a competition rifle…you  name it where as the Marlin rifles…not so much)

Check out this guy shooting a silhouette at 200 yards with an out of the box Ruger 10/22: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ds0IOBjF_FQ

So again, as far as accuracy is concerned most marksman, small game hunters, and plinkers are likely to see little difference in accuracy when using stock out of the box Ruger 10/22’s or Marlins and yet, if you want to make your Ruger 10/22 into something you could use to compete in bench  rest competitions (target barrel, new trigger group), or tactical run and gun competitions you can do that.  But you can’t do nearly as much with the Marlins or any other Semiautomatic .22 Rifle for that matter

.

The Ruger 10/22 Carbine is extraordinarily dependable.  It’s construction, in my opinion, seems far more durable and solid than that of the Marlin 795.  Take down and reassembly is also simple and straightforward.  Ruger also has loaded disassembly, cleaning, and reassembly videos on You Tube.  This is a great plus for the first time Ruger 10/22 owner.

The Ruger 10/22, in my experience, is far less finicky when it comes to Ammo than just about every other semi-auto out there.  My Ruger 10/22 will eat anything I feed it.  I use Federal 550 for most of my shooting, but I’ll use CCI Minimags for zeroing and hunting.  I’ve yet to experience any misfires, failures to feed or eject…nothing zero nada.  I’ve also used Remington Golden Bullets with a lot of success.  They are a little dirty however and leave gold dust on everything.

On the other hand the Marlins can be quite a bit more picky when it comes to ammo.  This is a big issue for me.  If I’m going to the range I definitely prefer putting 550 rounds down range for $15.47 over putting 550 rounds of CCI MiniMags down range for $36.  Now I’m not saying Marlins or other .22 rifles won’t shoot the cheap stuff, but in my experience and from what I’ve heard and read from others a clean Ruger 10/22 will perform more reliably and consistently on the cheap stuff, than any other semiautomatic .22 out there.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not knocking the Marlins.  They are outstanding rifles and they are outstanding rifles for the money.  However, in regard to what I want, look for, expect in a .22 caliber rifle I prefer the Ruger 10/22.

Good accuracy, dependability, and the ability to shoot inexpensive ammunition make the Ruger 10/22 a great survival rifle.  An enormous capacity for modifications and upgrades also makes the Ruger 10/22 a great survival rifle.

A Butler Creek folding stock combined with the easy removal of the Ruger 10/22 barrel makes for a great “takedown” rifle that be stored easily inside a backpack or bugout bag.  What’s more, with the plethora of aftermarket parts available for the Ruger 10/22 there are probably more spare Ruger 10/22 parts floating around than any other .22 Rifle ever made.  This will make getting spare parts for your Ruger 10/22 during the Zombie Apocalypse much easier.

To be continued….

4 Responses to “Ruger 10/22 Carbine: The #1 Semi-Automatic .22 Rifle For All Occasions (Part One)”

  1. limundo
    I would like to express my thanks to this writer just for rescuing me from this particular instance. Just after surfing around throughout the the web and obtaining things that were not pleasant, I figured my entire life was done. Existing without the presence of solutions to limundo.com the problems you have resolved all through your good posting is a serious case, and ones which may have adversely damaged my entire career if I hadn’t encountered your site. Your actual understanding and kindness in dealing with every aspect was vital. I’m not sure what I would have done if I hadn’t discovered such a point like this. I’m able to now look forward to my future. Thanks very much for the impressive and sensible help. I won’t be reluctant to endorse your web page to any individual who needs to have guidelines on this subject matter.

  2. kevin garnett
    Thanks for this terrific post. I seriously like the content you put up on your web site. Added to my bookmarks for future visits. ray allen

  3. I and also my guys were actually following the nice guidelines from your web blog while immediately came up with a horrible suspicion I had not expressed respect to you for those techniques. These young men became as a result excited to study them and have absolutely been tapping into these things. We appreciate you actually being quite considerate and for making a decision on variety of impressive useful guides most people are really wanting to discover. My very own sincere regret for not expressing appreciation to sooner. seattle support

  4. Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and
    i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam remarks? If so
    how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can suggest?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any support is very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

