#1 Thing to Do When You Can’t Shoot Your .22 Rifle

Full Image

Okay….maybe it’s not the “number one” thing to do, but it’s up there.  “What are you talking about?” you ask.  I’m talking about shooting your BB gun.

I really miss living in the country.  Granted, my current residence is not located in a heavily urban smog infested city hell, but I still am not able to walk into my backyard and shoot my rifle or walk half a mile to a farm pond for fishing.  No, I have to drive about 30-40 minutes to my folks property to do that (Thank God in heaven they’ve hung onto that land.  I should shut up with my complaining and just be thankful).

Unfortunately, I could not convince my wife to relocate to the country and for better or worse I simply do not have the time or the permission to drive out to my folks every night.  So what do I do when I really really want to feel the satisfaction of a well placed shot or the joy of proper execution of marksmanship fundamentals??  I walk into my backyard with my Marlin Cowboy Lever Action BB Gun and light up some empty beer cans and retired action figures (I hope that stuff in Toy Story is make believe).

Maybe I’ve grown old or uninteresting or both, but there are fewer things more fun than to me than lining up a row of empty PBR Cans and some Happy Meal toys my kids never play with and doing some cowboy action bb shooting (I like to keep some full PBR cans with me as well…not to shoot though).

What’s more it’s a great way to spend some time with my boy.  He with his Daisy Red Ryder and me with my Marlin makes for some great father son time.  Shooting a BB gun with Dad is how I and who knows how many others learned to shoot.

Thankfully, it’s fairly easy to set up a safe little BB Shooting Range in your back yard, especially if you’ve got a wooden fence.  There are also some  good BB/Pellet Traps you can purchase for relatively cheap:Gamo Cone Pellet Trap

Depending on your house, you might even be able to set up a safe and fun range inside.

If your in the market for a good replicaesque BB Gun but don’t want a Red Ryder or already have a Red Ryder check out the Marlin Lever Action BB gun.  They have them at Academy for 34.00 dollars or you can get them at Amazon for about the same price:  http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B003XDYZIO/arjibakoh3-20

It’s almost entirely made of wood and metal and it’s a little more powerful than the Red Ryder and seems to be a tad more accurate.  It is very cool and makes for some good cheap fun.

One Response to “#1 Thing to Do When You Can’t Shoot Your .22 Rifle”

  1. I hear you loud and clear. Set up a 10M pellet range in my basement using the gammo pellet trap you picture. BTW that trap is not intended for BBs just pellets from further than 15 feet.

Leave a Reply

